Pocket Wi-Fi for long stays in Japan: contracts without a credit card
Pocket wifi in Japan for long stays: monthly plans from Sakura Mobile, GTN and WiMAX. Prices, contract terms, ID needed and how to pay without a Japanese card.
As of October 2026, the long-term pocket Wi-Fi plan we found with the loosest terms for foreign residents is Sakura Mobile's monthly plan: 100 GB for ¥5,478 or 200 GB for ¥7,128, no minimum term, and payment by foreign card or convenience-store cash. GTN Wi-Fi MAX costs ¥5,390 with a ¥10,000 refundable deposit. WiMAX's Gigahodai Plus S has no contract period from ¥5,280. Pocket Wi-Fi needs no installation, unlike fiber.
For pocket wifi in Japan on a long stay, Sakura Mobile’s monthly plan has the loosest terms we found: ¥5,478 a month for 100 GB, no minimum term, and payment by foreign card or convenience-store cash. GTN Wi-Fi MAX is ¥5,390 plus a ¥10,000 refundable deposit. WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S starts at ¥5,280 with no contract period. Prices are from provider pages, as of October 2026.
What is pocket Wi-Fi in Japan, and when does it make sense?
Pocket Wi-Fi is a small mobile router (モバイルルーター) that turns a mobile network into Wi-Fi for your laptop, phone and other devices. Sakura Mobile’s device runs on the SoftBank 4G network, supports up to 15 devices and arrives pre-configured, so there is no SIM to install.
GTN lists the trade-offs for pocket Wi-Fi: you must charge it, many plans have data caps, speed can drop when many devices connect, and the signal can be weak indoors. Fiber avoids charging and data caps, but it needs installation and sometimes landlord approval. See our guide to home internet in Japan with English support if you will stay in one place.
Which pocket Wi-Fi plans have no long contract?
Plan
Monthly price
Data
Contract
One-off costs
Sakura Mobile (100 GB)
¥5,478
100 GB a month
None, no early termination fee
¥5,500 activation
Sakura Mobile (200 GB)
¥7,128
200 GB a month
None, no early termination fee
¥5,500 activation
GTN Wi-Fi MAX
¥5,390 (¥5,060 with a voice SIM)
10 GB a day
Not stated on the plan page
¥10,000 refundable deposit
WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S
From ¥5,280 (¥4,598 for 13 months with a discount)
Unlimited in standard mode
None
Not on the plan page
Notes on the table:
Sakura Mobile: the activation fee is waived if you order a Monthly Voice + Data SIM at the same time. Over the monthly limit, the connection is cut off until the 1st of the next month, and there are no top-ups. Billing is postpaid, at the end of the following month.
GTN Wi-Fi MAX: the device is free. GTN’s magazine says speed drops to 128 kbps for the rest of the day after 10 GB, with up to 300 GB a month. Its plan page doesn’t state a contract term, and GTN’s magazine says pocket Wi-Fi contracts are typically 1 to 3 years, so ask before you apply.
WiMAX: the page doesn’t give a device price or cancellation fee. Check the cancellation page (解除料について) it links to.
Sakura Mobile’s own comparison lists other carriers with longer terms: au WiMAX with a 2-year auto-renewing contract and a ¥1,100 cancellation fee, and SoftBank with a 1-year term. We haven’t checked these against the carriers’ own sites. The comparison is written by a seller, so treat it as a lead, not a verdict.
Can I get pocket Wi-Fi without a Japanese credit card?
Sakura Mobile accepts an international credit or debit card and says you don’t need a Japanese bank account. You can also pay cash through Smart Pit at Lawson, MiniStop or FamilyMart, from the 1st to the 10th of the following month. Cash payers pay a security deposit equal to two months of the plan fee, applied to the final two bills. Card payers pay no deposit.
GTN’s billing page lists credit card, convenience-store payment, automatic bank deduction, payment at a GTN branch and bank transfer. It doesn’t say whether foreign-issued cards work. GTN’s magazine adds that debit and prepaid cards are often refused by providers in general.
WiMAX’s plan page doesn’t list payment requirements, so we can’t say whether it needs a credit card.
What ID and documents do I need?
Sakura Mobile asks for different ID depending on how you collect the device:
Getting a monthly pocket Wi-Fi from Sakura Mobile
YouChoose a plan100 GB or 200 GB. Decide on device insurance now: it can only be added at sign-up.
YouApply with IDHome delivery: residence card (在留カード) or My Number Card (マイナンバーカード) showing your Japanese address. Airport or office pickup: passport.
Sakura MobileGet the deviceHome delivery usually takes 1 to 3 business days. Pickup is at Narita, Haneda, Kansai or Fukuoka airports, or the Shinjuku office.
YouPay each monthCard is charged at the end of the following month. Cash is paid at a convenience store.
YouCancel and returnPut the device in the prepaid envelope and drop it in any red Japan Post mailbox. A final invoice arrives the month after.
GTN’s magazine says you can apply for Wi-Fi MAX “with just your passport”, but its general documents section says a residence card is usually required, with the passport possibly requested alongside it. Confirm with GTN before applying. GTN also says contracts generally need a Japanese address, phone number and email address. Sakura Mobile’s comparison says docomo, au and SoftBank require a residence card to sign.
We couldn’t find a minimum remaining period of stay on any of these pages. GTN’s magazine warns that many providers want your remaining stay to be longer than the contract term. If your residence card has only a few months left, ask before you sign.
What happens if I break or lose the device?
Sakura Mobile offers insurance only at sign-up. None costs ¥0 a month and you owe full compensation. Regular costs ¥330 a month and covers 70%. Premium costs ¥440 a month and covers 100%. Without insurance, a replacement pocket Wi-Fi device is ¥30,000, and a screen is ¥10,000.
GTN’s ¥10,000 deposit is refunded after you return the router and have no unpaid bills.
Pocket Wi-Fi, SIM or fiber: which fits a long stay?
Pocket Wi-Fi: best if you need Wi-Fi for several devices, can’t get fiber yet or move often.
What is the cheapest pocket wifi in Japan for a long stay?
On the pages we read in October 2026, WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S starts at ¥5,280 a month, GTN Wi-Fi MAX is ¥5,390 and Sakura Mobile is ¥5,478 for 100 GB. The prices are close, so the contract terms and payment method matter more.
Can I get a pocket wifi in Japan without a credit card?
Sakura Mobile accepts convenience-store cash (Smart Pit) as well as foreign cards, with a deposit of two months' fees for cash payers. GTN lists convenience-store payment and automatic bank deduction on its billing page. Check each provider's current terms before applying.
Do I need a residence card for pocket wifi?
Sakura Mobile asks for a residence card or My Number Card for home delivery, or a passport for airport or office pickup. GTN's magazine says you can apply for its pocket Wi-Fi with just a passport, but also says a residence card is usually required, so confirm with GTN. The pages we read did not state a minimum remaining period of stay.
Is there a contract for pocket wifi in Japan?
It depends. Sakura Mobile has no minimum term and no early termination fee. WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S has no contract period. GTN's plan page does not state a term. A seller's comparison lists 1-year and 2-year contracts at other carriers.
Is pocket wifi or home fiber better for a long stay?
Pocket Wi-Fi needs no installation or landlord approval and goes with you, but it has data limits. Fiber needs installation and sometimes landlord approval.
eSIM in Japan as a resident: what ahamo, povo, Rakuten Mobile and Sakura Mobile ask for with a residence card, and which cards are blocked as of October 2026.
Home internet in Japan with English support: Sakura Fiber, GTN and Asahi Net vs SoftBank Hikari, NURO and 5G routers. Prices, install waits, cancel fees.
Using a VPN in Japan is not banned in the sources we checked. What it does for public Wi-Fi, why Netflix blocks it, and what to avoid as a foreign resident.