Bank accounts
Which Japanese banks open accounts for foreigners? 10 banks compared
How to open a bank account in Japan as a foreigner: residence-card rules, the 6-month rule, English and overseas transfers at 10 banks (October 2026).
Yes, foreigners in Japan can get a credit card. What issuers require, 8 no-fee cards scored for newcomers, and debit cards if you're declined.
Foreign residents can get a Japanese credit card. Issuers generally want a stay of 3 months or more, a residence card, a Japanese address, a Japanese bank account and a phone number. No issuer publishes approval rates by visa or months in Japan. As of October 2026, Rakuten Card scores highest here (7.4/10) thanks to its English app, then Epos (7.1), which checks your residence card on every renewal. All 8 cards compared have no annual fee. A bank debit card is the fallback.
Yes, you can get a credit card in Japan as a foreigner. Issuers generally ask that you stay in Japan 3 months or more and have a residence card (在留カード), a Japanese address, a Japanese bank account and a phone number. You don’t need permanent residency (永住). As of October 2026, no issuer publishes approval rates by visa type or months in Japan. So this guide compares 8 no-annual-fee cards on what they do publish: who can apply, fees, English support and features.
What issuers publish about approval odds for foreigners
Nothing
None of the 8 issuers' pages we checked publish approval rates; they say screening (審査) applies. Claims of easy approval come from blogs, not issuers.
Yes. Sumitomo Mitsui Card (三井住友カード) says in a March 2026 guide that foreigners who meet its conditions can get a Japanese card. The conditions it lists:
The same guide says you may be asked for income documents such as pay slips. It also says the issuer may phone your employer to confirm you work there (在籍確認). This is general information. Sumitomo Mitsui Card says it does not disclose its screening criteria.
Screening looks mainly at your personal details (本人属性) and your credit information (信用情報), according to Sumitomo Mitsui Card. If you’re new to Japan, your Japanese credit file is short or empty.
You can see your own file at CIC (シー・アイ・シー), one of Japan’s credit bureaus. It shows your contracts with member companies, your payment status, your balances and your application records. Online disclosure costs ¥500. By post it costs ¥1,500 and takes about 1 week to 10 days.
Sumitomo Mitsui Card suggests setting the cash advance limit (キャッシング枠) to ¥0 when you apply. Saison advises answering the card company’s calls during screening in Japanese.
All 8 cards below have no annual fee. Saison is the one exception with a condition: it charges a ¥1,650 card service fee if you don’t use the card for 12 months. Published conditions are as of October 2026.
| Card | Published conditions | Base points | Brands | Overseas fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Card | 18+, living in Japan | 1% | Visa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex | 3.63% |
| Epos Card | Residents of Japan only | 0.5% | Visa | not published on pages we checked |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) | 18+, not high school | 0.5% | Visa, Mastercard | 3.63% |
| Amazon Mastercard | 18+, not high school | 1.0% | Mastercard | not covered by 2024 SMBC change; rate not shown |
| d card | 18+, not high school, own-name bank account, d account | 1% | Visa, Mastercard | not published on pages we checked |
| AEON Card | 18+ | 0.5% | not stated in our source | not published on pages we checked |
| JCB Card W | 18–39, stable income (you or spouse) or student | 1.0% | JCB | not published on pages we checked |
| Saison Card International | 18+, partner bank account; residence card valid 6+ months (Saison guide) | 1 point per ¥1,000 | Visa, Mastercard, JCB | not published on pages we checked |
The overseas fee (海外事務手数料) is what the issuer adds when you pay in a foreign currency. Rakuten Card raised it from 2.20% to 3.63% on March 1, 2025. Sumitomo Mitsui Card did the same for Visa and Mastercard from November 1, 2024.
We score banks and cards with the same published method: can a newcomer get it (visa, months in Japan, residence-card period) 35%, fees 20%, English app and support 20%, and features foreigners need such as overseas use and online management 25%. Each criterion is 0 to 10.
Approval odds aren’t published, so the first criterion scores only what issuers publish: how low the stated bar is and how clear the residence-card rules are. It doesn’t predict whether you’ll be approved. The full method is on our methodology page.
| Card | Newcomer access (35%) | Fees (20%) | English (20%) | Features (25%) | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Card | 7 | 7 | 9 | 7 | 7.4 |
| Epos Card | 8 | 7 | 7 | 6 | 7.1 |
| Amazon Mastercard | 7 | 7 | 2 | 7 | 6.0 |
| d card | 7 | 6 | 2 | 7 | 5.8 |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) | 7 | 7 | 3 | 5 | 5.7 |
| AEON Card | 7 | 7 | 2 | 5 | 5.5 |
| Saison Card International | 6 | 6 | 5 | 4 | 5.3 |
| JCB Card W | 4 | 7 | 2 | 6 | 4.7 |
Why each card scored as it did:
None of these picks is paid for. We have no affiliate links on this page.
Have your Japanese bank account open first, since every card here pays from one. A Japanese phone number also matters; see our guide to a SIM card for foreigners in Japan.
Card issuers keep checking your status. Rakuten Card asks members without Japanese nationality for a copy of both sides of their residence card, as part of anti-money-laundering checks. If you don’t send it, Rakuten may end your contract.
Epos cites the Financial Services Agency (金融庁) anti-money-laundering guidelines of February 2018. It checks your status and period of stay continuously. Two months before the expiry date on file, Epos emails or texts you a request for your renewed card. If you don’t submit it, or that date passes, Epos restricts your card.
A debit card (デビットカード) takes each payment straight from your bank account balance, so you can only spend what’s in the account. Both cards below come with the bank account.
| Debit card | Annual fee | Rewards | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Bank Debit (Mastercard or JCB) | Free | 1 Rakuten point per ¥100 | From age 16; can be ordered when you open a Rakuten Bank account |
| Sony Bank WALLET (Visa debit) | Free | 0.5% to 2% cashback by Club S stage | Pays in 11 currencies from Sony Bank foreign-currency accounts |
Account-opening rules for Rakuten Bank and Sony Bank are in our bank account guide.
Yes. Sumitomo Mitsui Card says a foreigner can get a Japanese card if they stay in Japan 3 months or more and have a residence card, a Japanese address, a Japanese bank account and a phone number. Screening then looks at your details and credit history.
Nobody can honestly say, because no issuer publishes approval rates by visa or time in Japan. Cards with low published bars include Rakuten Card (18+, living in Japan), Epos (residents of Japan), AEON Card (18+) and Sumitomo Mitsui Card (NL) (18+, not high school).
Rakuten Card is open to people 18 and over who live in Japan, subject to screening. Members without Japanese nationality are asked to submit a copy of both sides of their residence card, and Rakuten may end the contract if it isn't submitted.
3.63% (tax included) on Visa, Mastercard, JCB and American Express since March 1, 2025, up from 2.20%.
Issuers ask for the renewed card. Epos emails or texts you two months before the expiry date it has on file and restricts the card if you don't submit the new one or pass that date.
Spotted something out of date or wrong? Email [email protected] and we will check it against the source. See our corrections policy.
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash