Credit and debit cards
Credit cards for foreigners in Japan: what you can realistically get
Yes, foreigners can get a credit card in Japan. Issuers ask for a residence card, address, bank account and phone. How to apply, 8 no-fee cards scored.
Debit card Japan guide for foreigners: age and residence rules, fees, cashback, overseas fees and where debit fails, for 8 cards (October 2026).
A debit card in Japan comes with your bank account and spends only your balance, so the hard part for a foreigner is opening the account. As of October 2026, the standard bank cards compared have no annual fee and, where an age is published, start at 15 or 16 for residents of Japan. Wise scores highest (7.6/10), then Seven Bank (7.3) and Japan Post Bank (6.9). Overseas fees run from 0% (Sony Bank, in 10 currencies) to 4.0%. Expect refusals at highway tolls, gas stations and for phone installments.
A debit card in Japan (デビットカード) takes each payment straight from your bank account, so you don’t need a Japanese credit history. You need the account. As of October 2026, the standard bank debit cards compared here have no annual fee and, where banks publish an age, are open to residents of Japan from age 15 or 16. You order the card with the account or add it later.
What you need for a bank debit card
The bank account
Every bank card here comes with that bank's account. Most banks want 3+ months left on your residence card (在留カード), as of October 2026.
Yes. The debit card pages we checked set two conditions and say nothing extra about nationality: you live in Japan and you meet an age minimum. PayPay Bank compares its Visa debit with credit cards and says there is no screening (入会審査) for the debit card.
The real gate is the bank account. Japan Post Bank (ゆうちょ銀行) wants more than 3 months left on your residence card and Seven Bank at least 3 months; neither sets a 6-month rule for its standard route (Seven Bank’s online route asks newcomers under 6 months for proof of a job). Sony Bank wants 6 months in Japan before foreigners can open an account. MUFG asks foreigners to apply at a branch with a seal (印鑑). Our bank account guide has the full rules.
Wise works differently. It verifies long-term visa holders with a My Number card, or with a residence card plus a My Number document such as a residence record (住民票) issued in the last 6 months. Your name, date of birth and address must match exactly on all of them.
Published conditions and fees, as of October 2026:
| Card | Brand | Minimum age | Annual fee | Rewards | Overseas fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan Post Bank (ゆうちょデビット) | Visa | 15 (not junior high) | ¥0 | 0.25% cashback | 4.0% |
| Sony Bank WALLET | Visa | not stated on pages we checked | ¥0 | 0.5% to 2.0% cashback | 0% in 10 currencies, else 1.79% |
| Rakuten Bank Debit | Mastercard, JCB, Visa | 16 | ¥0 (Silver ¥2,200, Gold ¥5,500) | 1 point per ¥100 | 3.080% |
| SMBC (Olive Flexible Pay) | Visa, iD | 15 for SMBC Debit; Olive not stated | ¥0 (Olive 一般) | see note below | 3.63% |
| MUFG Visa Debit | Visa | 15 (not junior high) | ¥0 | 0.20% cashback | 3.05% |
| PayPay Bank Visa Debit | Visa | not confirmed | ¥0 | no standing rate published | not published on pages we checked |
| Seven Bank Debit | JCB | 16 | ¥0 | 0.5% nanaco points | 3.0% |
| Wise card | not stated | not stated | ¥1,200 one-time card fee | none | no overseas fee; conversion fee applies |
The overseas fee (海外事務手数料) is added when you pay in a foreign currency. Overseas ATM withdrawals cost ¥110 each at Japan Post Bank, SMBC, MUFG and Seven Bank, plus any fee the ATM owner charges.
SMBC now issues Olive Flexible Pay for new debit applications. It switches between credit, debit and points modes in the app. The older SMBC Debit gave 0.5% V points or 0.25% cashback; we couldn’t confirm Olive’s standard rate in debit mode.
We use the same published method as for banks and credit cards: can a newcomer get it (35%), fees (20%), English app and support (20%) and features foreigners need (25%). Each criterion is scored 0 to 10, and n/a means no evidence. A card gets an overall score only when at least 75% of the weights have evidence.
How 0 to 10 maps for each criterion:
| Card | Newcomer (35%) | Fees (20%) | English (20%) | Features (25%) | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wise card | 7 | 8 | 9 | 7 | 7.6 |
| Seven Bank Debit | 8 | 7 | 8 | 6 | 7.3 |
| Japan Post Bank (ゆうちょデビット) | 8 | 6 | 7 | 6 | 6.9 |
| Sony Bank WALLET | 4 | 9 | 5 | 9 | 6.5 |
| Rakuten Bank Debit | 6 | 7 | 2 | 8 | 5.9 |
| SMBC (Olive Flexible Pay) | 7 | 6 | 3 | 6 | 5.8 |
| PayPay Bank Visa Debit | 6 | n/a | 2 | 4 | 4.4 |
| MUFG Visa Debit | 4 | 7 | 2 | 4 | 4.2 |
Why each card scored as it did:
n/a.No provider paid for its score, and this page has no affiliate links.
A debit card is not a credit card. Banks and billers list these common gaps:
Japan Post Bank, Sony Bank, SMBC, MUFG and PayPay Bank issue Visa debit cards. Rakuten Bank offers Mastercard, JCB and Visa. Seven Bank’s card is JCB.
A Visa debit card shows the Visa logo and works at Visa merchants in Japan and abroad, within your balance. Shops may still refuse it in the cases listed above.
Yes for spending abroad, at the overseas fees in the table. Sony Bank charges no overseas fee in 10 currencies (US dollar, euro, pound, Australian, New Zealand and Canadian dollars, Swiss franc, Hong Kong dollar, rand and krona) when you pay from a balance in that currency in its free foreign-currency account; you pay only Sony Bank’s exchange cost when you buy the currency. Without that balance, and in other currencies, the fee is 1.79%.
For remittance, a debit card is usually not the cheapest way to pay. On our remittance sample, paying a money transfer service by debit card cost more than paying by bank transfer. Compare routes in our guide to sending money from Japan.
The card lives or dies with the account. Sony Bank asks for your new residence card each time you extend your stay and restricts transactions if it can’t confirm the renewal. Japan Post Bank’s debit terms let it end your card membership once you no longer live in Japan.
Wise says it can’t offer you an account in Japan once you move out, though you may be able to open one in your new country. Before you leave, check our leaving Japan checklist.
For tolls, rentals and phone installments you will eventually want a credit card. When you’re ready, see credit cards for foreigners in Japan and how your credit score works in Japan.
More guides: opening a bank account in Japan, credit cards for foreigners and sending money from Japan.
Yes. Bank debit cards come with the bank account, so if you can open the account you can usually add the card. The banks compared want you to live in Japan and be 15 or 16 or older. Most banks also want at least 3 months left on your residence card.
Yes. ゆうちょデビット is a free Visa debit card for Japan Post Bank account holders aged 15 or over (not junior high students) who live in Japan. It pays 0.25% cashback and charges a 4.0% overseas fee.
Yes. Japan Post Bank, Sony Bank, SMBC, MUFG and PayPay Bank all issue Visa debit cards, and Rakuten Bank offers Visa as well as Mastercard and JCB. Seven Bank's debit card is JCB.
Usually not. SMBC, MUFG and Seven Bank list expressway tolls among the payments their debit cards may not handle. The ETC Personal Card is made for people without a credit card: ¥1,257 a year plus a deposit of 4 times your monthly tolls, from ¥3,000.
Some classes need a real credit card. At Nippon Rent-A-Car, premium and large classes are credit card only, and cards with a debit function such as Olive count as debit. Where debit is accepted, the card check takes the money at once and the refund can take months.
Spotted something out of date or wrong? Email [email protected] and we will check it against the source. See our corrections policy.