MoneyBank accounts

Personal loans in Japan for foreigners: what lenders require and what to avoid

Personal loans in Japan for foreigners: many lenders require permanent residency, legal interest is capped at 15–20%, and how to spot illegal lenders.

A hand holding a mix of Japanese yen coins
Legal interest cap
15% to 20% a year, by amount
Money lender total cap
1/3 of annual income
Income proof needed
Over ¥500,000 at one lender
Check a lender
FSA registered lender search
Short answer

Getting a personal loan in Japan as a foreigner is hard without permanent residency. As of October 2026, MUFG Bank and Rakuten Bank card loans are open to foreign nationals only with permanent residency, and the card loan brand Lake mentions only permanent residents. Legal interest is capped at 20%, 18% or 15% a year depending on the amount, and money lenders can't lend you more than one third of your annual income in total. A money lender charging more than 20% commits a crime.

A personal loan in Japan for foreigners is hard to get without permanent residency. As of October 2026, card loans from MUFG Bank and Rakuten Bank are open to foreign nationals only with permanent residency (永住者), and Lake accepts foreign applicants who have permanent residency. The law also caps interest at 15% to 20% a year, depending on the amount. Registered money lenders can’t lend you more than one third of your annual income in total. Anyone offering easy money above those limits is likely an illegal lender.

This page explains the rules and the risks. It doesn’t recommend a lender. For a debt you can’t manage, talk to a lawyer (弁護士) or judicial scrivener (司法書士). The help desks are listed below.

Legal interest cap

20% / 18% / 15%

Under ¥100,000 / ¥100,000 to under ¥1 million / ¥1 million or more, per year (利息制限法 Article 1).

What do lenders require from foreign residents?

In Japan, a personal loan is usually a card loan (カードローン): you get a credit limit and borrow and repay as often as you like. Banks offer them, and so do consumer finance companies (消費者金融), which are registered money lenders (貸金業者).

Here is what lenders say on their own pages about foreign applicants, as of October 2026:

Lender Type Rule for foreign nationals Rate (per year) Age
MUFG Bank (三菱UFJ銀行, バンクイック) Bank Permanent residence permission required 1.4% to 14.6% 20 to under 65
Rakuten Bank (楽天銀行スーパーローン) Bank Permanent residency or special permanent residency required 1.9% to 14.5% 20 to 62
Lake (レイク) Card loan brand Can apply with Japanese permanent residency or special permanent residency Not checked Not checked
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (三井住友銀行) Bank Not stated on the pages we read 1.5% to 14.5% 20 to 69
AIFUL (アイフル) Consumer finance Not stated; residence card accepted as ID 3.0% to 18.0% 20 to 69

What this means for you:

  • No permanent residency: MUFG and Rakuten exclude you in writing, and Lake mentions only permanent residents. Where a lender doesn’t state a rule, ask before you apply. Each application stays on your credit file for 6 months (see our credit score guide).
  • A guarantee company decides too. MUFG’s loan is guaranteed by ACOM, SMBC’s by SMBC Consumer Finance, and Rakuten’s by Rakuten Card or Sumitomo Mitsui Card. You must pass their screening as well as the bank’s.
  • Stable income. MUFG, Rakuten, SMBC and AIFUL all ask for regular or stable income.
  • Your name. Lake says to call its free line (0120-09-09-09) if your name is in the alphabet and won’t fit the online form.
  • A low rate isn’t automatic. Rakuten Bank charges 14.5% on limits from ¥100,000 to under ¥1 million, and its lowest rates apply only to the largest limits. MUFG also sets your rate by your limit.

Your credit history matters as much as your visa. Japanese lenders check the credit bureaus (CIC, JICC and the Zenginkyo center), and history from your home country isn’t there. Our credit score guide explains how it works.

Two laws set the limits.

The Interest Rate Restriction Act (利息制限法) caps interest by the loan amount:

Principal Maximum interest per year
Under ¥100,000 20%
¥100,000 to under ¥1,000,000 18%
¥1,000,000 or more 15%

Interest above the cap is void. Fees count too: the act treats any money the lender takes apart from principal, such as a “commission” or “screening fee”, as interest. Contract and repayment costs are the exception. If you borrow again from the same lender, the band is set by your remaining balance plus the new loan.

Late-payment charges are capped at 1.46 times these rates. Rakuten Bank, for example, charges 19.9% a year on the remaining principal if you pay late.

The Investment Act (出資法) makes high interest a crime. A business lender that contracts for, receives or demands more than 20% a year faces up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to ¥10 million, or both. Above 109.5% a year (0.3% a day), the penalty rises to up to 10 years or ¥30 million. The criminal cap was 29.2% until it fell to 20% on 18 June 2010.

How much can you borrow? The one-third rule

The total borrowing cap (総量規制) applies to registered money lenders. If your combined balance with them is more than one third of your annual income, you can’t borrow anything new. With an annual income of ¥3,000,000, the cap is ¥1,000,000 across all money lenders.

What counts, according to the Financial Services Agency (金融庁):

  • Counts: consumer finance card loans and credit card cash advances (キャッシング).
  • Doesn’t count: bank card loans, credit card shopping, and housing and car loans.
  • Business loans to sole proprietors can be an exception if you show a business plan and ability to repay.
  • A spouse with no income may be able to borrow with the other spouse’s written consent and proof of the other spouse’s income.

You need income proof, such as a withholding slip (源泉徴収票) or tax return (確定申告書), when you borrow more than ¥500,000 from one lender or more than ¥1,000,000 in total from money lenders. SMBC asks for it on applications over ¥500,000 too. If you exceed the cap, you don’t have to repay the excess at once, but you can’t borrow more.

How to spot illegal lenders (ヤミ金)

An illegal lender (ヤミ金) lends without registration, often at illegal rates, and collects with threats. The FSA’s advice is plain: never borrow from one. Its warning signs:

  • No registration number, or a fake one, or another company’s number. The FSA publishes lists of both.
  • A name with “バンク” or “信託” to look like a bank or trust company.
  • Interest above 20% a year. Illegal lenders often make small loans for 7 to 10 days.
  • Asks for your family’s and employer’s contacts. These are later used for threatening calls.
  • Asks for your address, phone or bank account number. The FSA warns that some then pay money into your account unasked and demand illegal interest.
  • No written contract.

Watch for loans in disguise too. The FSA warns about person-to-person loans on social media (個人間融資), factoring that is really a loan, and “buy now, cash later” schemes (後払い現金化, 先払い買取現金化).

Never sell or lend your bank account to get cash. Our scams guide explains why that is a crime, and covers fake-official calls.

If an illegal lender is already contacting you, keep the evidence: contracts, repayment records and recordings of calls. Report it to the FSA’s consultation office (金融サービス利用者相談室), your local finance bureau, the police or the help desks below.

Where to get help with debt

Help What it does Contact
法テラス (Japan Legal Support Center) Multilingual Information Service Free information on the legal system, bar associations and relevant organizations (call charges apply). English, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Nepali, Thai, Indonesian, Easy Japanese 0570-078377 (050-3754-5430 from VoIP or prepaid phones), weekdays 9:00 to 17:00
法テラス civil legal aid Legal help for people under income and asset limits, open to foreign nationals living in Japan lawfully Through the number above
日本貸金業協会 (Japan Financial Services Association) Consultations and complaints about registered money lenders, and dispute resolution 0570-051-051
Finance bureau multi-debt desks (財務局多重債務相談窓口) Free consultation on multiple debts Tokyo 03-5842-7475; Osaka area 06-6949-6523; Aichi area 052-951-1764

For civil legal aid, the income limit for one person is about ¥182,000 a month (¥200,200 in large cities such as Tokyo and Osaka). It may rise by up to ¥41,000 if you pay rent. Apart from 法テラス’s multilingual line, we found no language support listed for these desks, so bring a Japanese speaker if you can.

If you worry about borrowing too much, you can also register for self-exclusion (貸付自粛制度) with the 日本貸金業協会 or the Zenginkyo credit center. Lenders then see that you asked not to be lent to.

Before you sign any loan
  1. You Check you need it The FSA advises working out the monthly repayment first and whether you can afford it.
  2. You Check the lender Bank, or a money lender in the FSA's registered lender search.
  3. You Check the rate and fees Over 20% a year is illegal. Fees count as interest.
  4. You and the lender Get and keep the contract No contract is a warning sign.

What if you leave Japan with a loan?

A loan doesn’t end when your visa does. Unpaid debts stay on your Japanese credit file, which can affect a later card, phone contract or mortgage. Repay before you go, or talk to the lender about how to keep paying. Our leaving Japan checklist covers the other steps.

More guides: credit cards for foreigners, bank accounts for foreigners, credit score in Japan.

Questions people ask

Can I get a personal loan in Japan without permanent residency?

It is hard. MUFG Bank and Rakuten Bank card loans accept foreign nationals only with permanent residency, and Lake says foreign nationals can apply if they have permanent residency. AIFUL and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation don't publish a residence-status rule on the pages we read, so ask them before applying.

What is the maximum legal interest rate on a loan in Japan?

Under the Interest Rate Restriction Act, 20% a year for loans under ¥100,000, 18% from ¥100,000 to under ¥1 million, and 15% from ¥1 million. A business lender that contracts for more than 20% commits a crime.

How much can I borrow from consumer finance companies in Japan?

Under the total borrowing cap, your combined balance with registered money lenders can't go above one third of your annual income for new borrowing. Bank card loans and housing loans are outside this rule.

How do I know if a lender in Japan is legal?

Search its name and registration number in the Financial Services Agency's registered lender search. Some illegal lenders show fake numbers or another company's number, so check the details match.

Where can I get help with debt in Japan in English?

法テラス's Multilingual Information Service (0570-078377, weekdays 9:00 to 17:00) gives free information in English, 9 other languages and Easy Japanese about the legal system and where to get help (call charges apply). Regional finance bureaus also run free multi-debt consultation desks.

Sources

  1. 利息制限法, e-Gov 法令検索 (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  2. 出資の受入れ、預り金及び金利等の取締りに関する法律, e-Gov 法令検索 (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  3. 貸金業法のキホン, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  4. 貸金業法Q&A, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  5. 多重債務者対策・貸金業法, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  6. 全国の財務局多重債務相談窓口 お問い合わせ先, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  7. 登録貸金業者情報検索サービス, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  8. 違法な金融業者にご注意!, Financial Services Agency (金融庁) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  9. お問い合わせ窓口 (site maintenance page), 日本貸金業協会 (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  10. For Foreign Nationals (Multilingual Information Service), Japan Legal Support Center (法テラス) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  11. Civil Legal Aid, Japan Legal Support Center (法テラス) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  12. 三菱UFJ銀行カードローン バンクイック, MUFG Bank (三菱UFJ銀行) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  13. 楽天銀行スーパーローン 商品概要説明書, Rakuten Bank (楽天銀行) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  14. カードローン 商品詳細, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (三井住友銀行) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  15. 外国籍でもレイクのカードローンに申込みできますか?, Lake (レイク) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  16. 商品案内, AIFUL (アイフル) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)
  17. キャッシングの必要書類, AIFUL (アイフル) (accessed Oct 24, 2026)

Spotted something out of date or wrong? Email [email protected] and we will check it against the source. See our corrections policy.

Photo: Mokkie / CC BY-SA 3.0