HousingRenting

Leopalace21 for foreigners: monthly rentals, fees and downsides

Leopalace in Japan for a foreigner: residence card screening, monthly rental vs lease costs, guarantee fee, penalties and the known downsides.

Deposit and agent fee
None
Monthly contract
30 to 365 days
Early exit, first year
1 month's rent
ID for foreigners
Residence card
Short answer

Leopalace21 rents furnished apartments in Japan to foreign residents who can show a residence card, with no deposit and no agent fee. As of October 2026, monthly contracts run 30 to 365 days, and one official 30-day example totals ¥203,830. Long-term leases add key money, a guarantee fee, ¥52,250 move-out cleaning and a penalty of one month's rent if you leave within a year. It does not publish its screening criteria, and a guarantor may be required.

Leopalace21 rents furnished apartments in Japan to any foreigner who can show a residence card (在留カード), with no deposit and no agent fee. As of October 2026, a monthly contract (マンスリー契約) runs 30 to 365 days, and a long-term lease suits stays of a year or more. Neither is free of extras: key money, a guarantee fee, insurance and cleaning charges still apply, and Leopalace does not publish its screening criteria.

Official 30-day monthly example

¥203,830

Room under 40 m2, H rank, paid in advance for the whole period. Utilities and internet ¥0 on the short-term plan. Prices vary by rank (Leopalace21 English monthly page).

Does Leopalace21 rent to foreigners?

Yes, but there is no foreigner-specific route on its website. The English FAQ says screening criteria are not disclosed, and that a joint guarantor (連帯保証人) may be required depending on the company’s screening. It also says minors and unemployed applicants may apply but may not be accepted.

For ID, Leopalace’s document sheet asks foreign nationals for a residence card. The sheet is older and mentions a second option (a legacy registration certificate plus passport) that most residents will not have. Leopalace says it cannot accept the application without one of these.

It does not state a minimum period of stay left on your residence card, a minimum income or a required status of residence (在留資格). Ask before you pay anything.

What do you need to apply?

From Leopalace’s document sheet:

  • Your residence card (a copy is taken).
  • A bank account in your own name for rent debit. Japan Post Bank works. Some credit unions do not.
  • A personal seal (印鑑) registered with that bank, for the contract and debit form.
  • One emergency contact within four degrees of kinship, with a mobile phone.
  • A guarantor only if screening asks for one. The sheet says the guarantor must live in Japan and be a Japanese national, permanent resident or special permanent resident. That can be hard if your family is abroad.

Leopalace may phone your workplace to confirm your employment. It does not return the documents you submit, whatever the result.

How a Leopalace21 contract works
  1. You Choose a property and contract type Long-term lease (a year or more) or monthly contract (30 to 365 days).
  2. Leopalace21 Apply and pass screening Residence card, bank account, seal, emergency contact. Leopalace does the first screening.
  3. You and Leopalace21 Sign Paper or online. Online signing needs a request at signing and must be done at least 5 days before move-in. It includes a video call explaining the key points.
  4. Leopalace21 Receive keys By mail, email or at a Leopalace center.

How much does a Leopalace21 lease cost?

Leopalace’s English lease page gives an example for a furnished room under 40 m2 with ¥50,000 rent. At contract you pay about ¥234,705 plus a daily-rate portion of the first month. Six of the lines on the page are one-off charges:

Item Amount
Key money (礼金), varies by property ¥50,000
Tenant insurance ¥19,890
Tenant support ¥18,975
Key exchange ¥16,500
Antibacterial treatment ¥20,900
Move-out cleaning, prepaid ¥52,250

Those six add up to ¥178,515. The rest of the ¥234,705 is the first month’s charges of ¥56,190: rent ¥50,000, maintenance fee ¥3,000, community fee ¥550 and Lite internet ¥2,640. Other fixed charges on the same page:

  • Guarantee fee. Individual contracts need a guarantee contract with a rent guarantee company Leopalace designates. The fee is 100% to 120% of the usage fee at signing, then ¥15,000 a year from the second year. The page’s example list shows no guarantee fee line, so confirm whether it is inside your quote.
  • Renewal fee. ¥16,500 every two years.
  • Internet. ¥2,640 a month (Lite) or ¥3,630 (Basic). Properties with ADSL have none.
  • Paper contract. ¥1,650.
  • Early exit. A penalty of one month’s rent if you move out within one year.

Every amount includes 10% consumption tax, per the page. Fire insurance is mandatory when moving in, but you can use another provider.

What does a monthly contract cost?

A monthly contract is paid in full in advance. The short-term plan (30 to 180 days) includes one set of rental futons, and the long-term plan runs 181 to 365 days. Past one year it becomes a regular lease.

In the 30-day example, the usage fee is ¥108,900, a monthly adjustment fee ¥13,530 and a key replacement fee ¥16,500, plus a ¥44,000 monthly charge that is non-refundable even if you cancel. Optional antibacterial and pest treatment adds ¥20,900. The total is ¥203,830. Utilities are ¥0, and basic move-out cleaning is included. Any roommate costs extra.

A monthly contract costs more per month than a lease, but it avoids key money, a long commitment and utility setup. Compare it with a share house if you only need a few months.

What are the downsides?

  • Opaque screening. There are no published criteria for visa length, income or history. A rejection gives you little to work with.
  • Extra fees. “No deposit” does not mean low cost. Key money, the guarantee fee, insurance, support fees and a ¥52,250 cleaning prepayment add up.
  • Guarantee fee is not refundable after move-in. Leopalace’s FAQ says it is not returned at all once you have moved in. You get a full refund only if you cancel before the contract start without moving in.
  • Campaign strings. The “Double discount” campaign waives key money and advance rent on listed rooms for individual contracts. If you cancel within 8 months, the waiver is voided and you pay it back. The guarantee fee, insurance and several other charges are not waived.
  • One-year penalty. Leaving in the first year costs one month’s rent.
  • Past construction problems. Leopalace21 reported possible construction code violations in some buildings it built, first in 2018. On 8 February 2019, it announced 1,324 more affected buildings, with about 14,000 tenants likely asked to move, and Japan’s Fire and Disaster Management Agency issued a release in July 2019. We could not confirm the current repair status in 2026, so ask about the specific building.
  • Contract language unclear. The site and FAQ have English, but we could not confirm what language the contract and forms are in. Ask before you apply.

We found no objective data on noise or wall thickness, only individual opinions, so we make no claim on that. See the building during a viewing if it matters to you.

Who is Leopalace21 a fit for?

It suits people who need a furnished room fast, on a short stay, with no agent and no deposit. A guarantor may still be requested. It suits you less if you want the lowest total cost over several years or if you need a status-based yes before you apply. For those cases, compare it with UR public housing or a private lease with a guarantor company.

Questions people ask

Does Leopalace21 rent to foreigners?

Yes, foreign nationals can apply with a residence card (在留カード). Leopalace does not publish its screening criteria, so approval is not guaranteed, and a joint guarantor may be requested.

Does Leopalace21 need a deposit or agent fee?

No. Its English lease page says rooms need no deposit and no brokerage fee. Key money, a guarantee fee, insurance and other charges still apply.

Can I rent a Leopalace21 room for one month?

A monthly contract runs a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 365 days, paid in advance for the whole period.

Is there English support at Leopalace21?

The website and FAQ are available in English, and the English FAQ lists an English phone line for room seekers: 050-3650-7576. We could not confirm the language of the contract, so check the line's hours and ask what you will sign before applying.

What happens if I leave a Leopalace21 lease early?

On the lease page, moving out within one year of the contract start costs a penalty equal to one month's rent. The guarantee fee is not refunded once you have moved in.

Sources

  1. Long-term contract, Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  2. Monthly contract, Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  3. 長期契約 (賃貸契約), Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  4. 必要書類・審査について, Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  5. ダブル割 (礼金・前家賃なし), Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  6. FAQ on room contract terms and conditions, Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  7. 退室時の費用について (保証委託料), Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  8. オンライン契約, Leopalace21 (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  9. Leopalace21 construction defects, February 2019, News On Japan (Nikkei report) (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
  10. 株式会社レオパレス21が施工した共同住宅における消防法令等への不適合, Fire and Disaster Management Agency (総務省消防庁) (accessed Oct 27, 2026)

Spotted something out of date or wrong? Email [email protected] and we will check it against the source. See our corrections policy.