# Pocket Wi-Fi for long stays in Japan: contracts without a credit card

URL: https://japanhow.com/phone-internet/internet/pocket-wifi-japan-long-term/
Author: JapanHow editors
Updated: Oct 27, 2026

## Summary

As of October 2026, the long-term pocket Wi-Fi plan we found with the loosest terms for foreign residents is Sakura Mobile's monthly plan: 100 GB for ¥5,478 or 200 GB for ¥7,128, no minimum term, and payment by foreign card or convenience-store cash. GTN Wi-Fi MAX costs ¥5,390 with a ¥10,000 refundable deposit. WiMAX's Gigahodai Plus S has no contract period from ¥5,280. Pocket Wi-Fi needs no installation, unlike fiber.

## Key facts

- Sakura monthly: ¥5,478 (100 GB)
- Minimum term: None at Sakura
- GTN Wi-Fi MAX: ¥5,390 + ¥10,000 deposit
- WiMAX contract period: None (Gigahodai Plus S)

For pocket wifi in Japan on a long stay, **Sakura Mobile's monthly plan** has the loosest terms we found: **¥5,478 a month for 100 GB**, no minimum term, and payment by foreign card or convenience-store cash. GTN Wi-Fi MAX is ¥5,390 plus a ¥10,000 refundable deposit. WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S starts at ¥5,280 with no contract period. Prices are from provider pages, as of October 2026.

## What is pocket Wi-Fi in Japan, and when does it make sense?

Pocket Wi-Fi is a small mobile router (モバイルルーター) that turns a mobile network into Wi-Fi for your laptop, phone and other devices. Sakura Mobile's device runs on the SoftBank 4G network, supports up to 15 devices and arrives pre-configured, so there is no SIM to install.

GTN lists the trade-offs for pocket Wi-Fi: you must charge it, many plans have data caps, speed can drop when many devices connect, and the signal can be weak indoors. Fiber avoids charging and data caps, but it needs installation and sometimes landlord approval. See our guide to [home internet in Japan with English support](/phone-internet/internet/home-internet-japan-foreigners/) if you will stay in one place.

## Which pocket Wi-Fi plans have no long contract?

| Plan | Monthly price | Data | Contract | One-off costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sakura Mobile (100 GB) | ¥5,478 | 100 GB a month | None, no early termination fee | ¥5,500 activation |
| Sakura Mobile (200 GB) | ¥7,128 | 200 GB a month | None, no early termination fee | ¥5,500 activation |
| GTN Wi-Fi MAX | ¥5,390 (¥5,060 with a voice SIM) | 10 GB a day | Not stated on the plan page | ¥10,000 refundable deposit |
| WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S | From ¥5,280 (¥4,598 for 13 months with a discount) | Unlimited in standard mode | None | Not on the plan page |

Notes on the table:

- **Sakura Mobile:** the activation fee is waived if you order a Monthly Voice + Data SIM at the same time. Over the monthly limit, the connection is cut off until the 1st of the next month, and there are no top-ups. Billing is postpaid, at the end of the following month.
- **GTN Wi-Fi MAX:** the device is free. GTN's magazine says speed drops to 128 kbps for the rest of the day after 10 GB, with up to 300 GB a month. Its plan page doesn't state a contract term, and GTN's magazine says pocket Wi-Fi contracts are typically 1 to 3 years, so ask before you apply.
- **WiMAX:** the page doesn't give a device price or cancellation fee. Check the cancellation page (解除料について) it links to.

Sakura Mobile's own comparison lists other carriers with longer terms: au WiMAX with a 2-year auto-renewing contract and a ¥1,100 cancellation fee, and SoftBank with a 1-year term. We haven't checked these against the carriers' own sites. The comparison is written by a seller, so treat it as a lead, not a verdict.

## Can I get pocket Wi-Fi without a Japanese credit card?

Sakura Mobile accepts an international credit or debit card and says you don't need a Japanese bank account. You can also pay cash through Smart Pit at Lawson, MiniStop or FamilyMart, from the 1st to the 10th of the following month. Cash payers pay a security deposit equal to two months of the plan fee, applied to the final two bills. Card payers pay no deposit.

GTN's billing page lists credit card, convenience-store payment, automatic bank deduction, payment at a GTN branch and bank transfer. It doesn't say whether foreign-issued cards work. GTN's magazine adds that debit and prepaid cards are often refused by providers in general.

WiMAX's plan page doesn't list payment requirements, so we can't say whether it needs a credit card.

## What ID and documents do I need?

Sakura Mobile asks for different ID depending on how you collect the device:

GTN's magazine says you can apply for Wi-Fi MAX "with just your passport", but its general documents section says a residence card is usually required, with the passport possibly requested alongside it. Confirm with GTN before applying. GTN also says contracts generally need a Japanese address, phone number and email address. Sakura Mobile's comparison says docomo, au and SoftBank require a residence card to sign.

We couldn't find a minimum remaining period of stay on any of these pages. GTN's magazine warns that many providers want your remaining stay to be longer than the contract term. If your residence card has only a few months left, ask before you sign.

## What happens if I break or lose the device?

Sakura Mobile offers insurance only at sign-up. None costs ¥0 a month and you owe full compensation. Regular costs ¥330 a month and covers 70%. Premium costs ¥440 a month and covers 100%. Without insurance, a replacement pocket Wi-Fi device is ¥30,000, and a screen is ¥10,000.

GTN's ¥10,000 deposit is refunded after you return the router and have no unpaid bills.

**Before you leave Japan:** Return the device before you go. Sakura Mobile bills one month in arrears, so a final invoice arrives after you cancel. Make sure a card or convenience-store payment is still available then.

## Pocket Wi-Fi, SIM or fiber: which fits a long stay?

- **Pocket Wi-Fi:** best if you need Wi-Fi for several devices, can't get fiber yet or move often.
- **A SIM with tethering:** uses your phone as the hotspot. See [SIM cards for foreigners](/phone-internet/mobile/sim-card-for-foreigners-japan/) and what you need for a [phone contract](/phone-internet/mobile/phone-contract-japan-foreigner/).
- **Fiber:** best for a stay of a year or more in one apartment, if your landlord allows installation.

Consumer problems with a contract can be raised with your local consumer affairs center (消費生活センター).

**More guides:** [Home internet in Japan](/phone-internet/internet/home-internet-japan-foreigners/), [SIM cards for foreigners](/phone-internet/mobile/sim-card-for-foreigners-japan/), [Phone contract as a foreigner](/phone-internet/mobile/phone-contract-japan-foreigner/).

## Questions people ask

### What is the cheapest pocket wifi in Japan for a long stay?

On the pages we read in October 2026, WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S starts at ¥5,280 a month, GTN Wi-Fi MAX is ¥5,390 and Sakura Mobile is ¥5,478 for 100 GB. The prices are close, so the contract terms and payment method matter more.

### Can I get a pocket wifi in Japan without a credit card?

Sakura Mobile accepts convenience-store cash (Smart Pit) as well as foreign cards, with a deposit of two months' fees for cash payers. GTN lists convenience-store payment and automatic bank deduction on its billing page. Check each provider's current terms before applying.

### Do I need a residence card for pocket wifi?

Sakura Mobile asks for a residence card or My Number Card for home delivery, or a passport for airport or office pickup. GTN's magazine says you can apply for its pocket Wi-Fi with just a passport, but also says a residence card is usually required, so confirm with GTN. The pages we read did not state a minimum remaining period of stay.

### Is there a contract for pocket wifi in Japan?

It depends. Sakura Mobile has no minimum term and no early termination fee. WiMAX Gigahodai Plus S has no contract period. GTN's plan page does not state a term. A seller's comparison lists 1-year and 2-year contracts at other carriers.

### Is pocket wifi or home fiber better for a long stay?

Pocket Wi-Fi needs no installation or landlord approval and goes with you, but it has data limits. Fiber needs installation and sometimes landlord approval.

## Sources

- [Sakura Mobile Monthly Pocket WiFi: A Complete Guide for Japan Residents](https://www.sakuramobile.jp/blog/plan-guides/sakura-mobile-monthly-pocket-wifi-a-complete-guide-for-japan-residents/), Sakura Mobile (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
- [Looking for a long-term pocket WiFi solution in Japan?](https://sakuramobile.jp/internet-japan/long-term-pocket-wifi), Sakura Mobile (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
- [Overview of GTN Mobile Plans](https://www.gtn-mobile.com/s/apply-form?language=en_US), GTN Mobile (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
- [Paying Bills](https://www.gtn-mobile.com/s/support/paying-bills?language=en_US), GTN Mobile (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
- [Wi-Fi for Long-Term Stays in Japan](https://www.gtn.co.jp/magazine/en_us/article11/), GTN Magazine (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
- [WiMAX プラン](https://www.uqwimax.jp/wimax/plan/), UQ WiMAX (KDDI) (accessed Oct 27, 2026)
