# Which Japanese banks open accounts for foreigners? 10 banks compared

URL: https://japanhow.com/money/banking/bank-account-for-foreigners-japan/
Author: japanhow editors
Updated: Oct 20, 2026

## Summary

Foreign residents can open a bank account in Japan with a residence card, as of October 2026. Most banks want at least 3 months left on your period of stay. SBI Shinsei, Sony Bank and PRESTIA also require 6 months in Japan or a job here. For new arrivals, Seven Bank (ATM opening with a residence card) and Japan Post Bank (no 6-month rule on its pages) are the easiest. Residence cards issued from June 14, 2026 are not yet accepted by some online and app routes.

## Key facts

- Easiest for new arrivals: Seven Bank, Japan Post Bank
- Stay left on residence card: Usually 3+ months
- 6 months in Japan or a job: SBI Shinsei, Sony, PRESTIA
- Cards issued from June 14, 2026: Not yet accepted everywhere

Yes, you can open a bank account in Japan as a foreigner if you live here and hold a residence card (在留カード). As of October 2026, most banks want **at least 3 months left on your period of stay**. SBI Shinsei, Sony Bank and PRESTIA also want **6 months in Japan or a job at an office in Japan**. If you just arrived, try **Seven Bank** (open at an ATM with your residence card) or **Japan Post Bank** (ゆうちょ銀行), whose pages set no 6-month minimum.

**The rule most banks share:** 3+ months left on your residence card (Japan Post Bank, Seven Bank, PayPay Bank and PRESTIA all state it, as of October 2026)

## Why do some banks ask for 6 months in Japan?

It comes from Japan's foreign exchange rules. Ministry of Finance (財務省) guidance treats a foreign national as a **non-resident (非居住者)** unless they work at an office in Japan or 6 months have passed since they entered Japan.

Banks such as SBI Shinsei, Sony Bank and PRESTIA build that test into their own rules. Family members who live with you and rely on your income follow your status.

If you came to Japan for a job, the employment test can help you before the 6 months are up. PRESTIA accepts "employed at an office located in Japan". Seven Bank's online route asks newcomers under 6 months for a certificate of employment or company ID.

## What do I need to open a bank account in Japan?

What banks ask for, in summary:

- **Residence card** with your current address. Japan Post Bank also asks for a document such as a residence record (住民票) if your card has no photo.
- **Time left on your stay**: usually more than 3 months.
- **A Japanese phone number.** See [getting a phone contract as a foreigner](/phone-internet/mobile/phone-contract-japan-foreigner/). SMBC's app and PRESTIA need a mobile that can receive SMS. SBI Shinsei requires that it can reach you by phone.
- **A seal (印鑑 / hanko)** for counter applications at Japan Post Bank, SMBC and MUFG. SBI Shinsei accepts a signature or a seal.
- **Student or trainee ID**: Japan Post Bank asks Student (留学) and Technical Intern Training (技能実習) visa holders for a student ID or employee ID.
- **My Number (個人番号)**: PRESTIA asks for it after opening. Japan Post Bank needs it registered before you can send money abroad.

At the counter, say 口座を開きたいです (I'd like to open an account) and show your residence card first. Japan Post Bank may mail your passbook to your home later rather than hand it over the same day.

**New residence cards issued from June 14, 2026:** Since June 14, 2026, new residence cards are issued, including the optional 特定在留カード that combines the residence card with the My Number card. On these cards, the period of stay is stored on the IC chip rather than printed on the front. Some bank systems can't read them yet:

- **Seven Bank**: not accepted at the ATM until December 22, 2026 (scheduled), and not accepted online.
- **Japan Post Bank**: can't be used for eKYC in its passbook and authentication apps for now, so you can't register for its international transfer service with one. A My Number card or driver's license works instead.
- **MUFG**: may ask for your passport or residence record as well.

If your old card is still valid, it stays valid until it expires, according to the Immigration Services Agency (出入国在留管理庁).

## How do the 10 banks compare?

The table shows how each bank lets foreign nationals apply and what it asks of newcomers, as stated on its own pages in October 2026.

| Bank | How foreigners apply | Months in Japan | Stay left on card | English |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| **Japan Post Bank** | Counter or app | No rule stated | More than 3 months | App in 7 languages, including English |
| **SMBC** | App or counter | Not stated | Not stated | None found |
| **MUFG** | Branch only | Not stated | Checked at branch | None found |
| **Mizuho** | Branch (app was for Japanese nationals) | 6 months or Japanese employer for online (2024 copy) | Not checked | Not checked |
| **SBI Shinsei** | Mail only | 6 months or working in Japan | Card must be valid | English forms, banking, help desk |
| **Sony Bank** | Mail only | 6 months | Not stated | Chat and email only |
| **Rakuten Bank** | App or mail | Not stated | Not stated | None found |
| **Seven Bank** | ATM or web | Web: 6 months or job proof | 3 months or more | English pages and ATM |
| **PayPay Bank** | Web route for foreigners | Not stated | May refuse under 3 months | None found |
| **PRESTIA (SMBC Trust)** | Online | 6 months or working in Japan | At least 3 months | English site and application |

Mizuho's website blocked our checks in October 2026. Its rules above come from an Internet Archive copy dated January 2024, so confirm them at a branch.

## Our scores

We use the published method for banks: **can a newcomer get it** (35%), **fees** (20%), **English app and support** (20%) and **features foreigners need**, such as overseas transfers and online banking (25%). Each criterion is scored 0 to 10. `n/a` means we found no evidence, and the overall is the weighted mean of the rest. A bank gets an overall score only when at least 3 of the 4 criteria have evidence. No bank paid for its score.

| Bank | Newcomer (35%) | Fees (20%) | English (20%) | Features (25%) | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| **Seven Bank** | 8 | n/a | 8 | 8 | **8.0** |
| **Japan Post Bank** | 8 | 6 | 7 | 7 | **7.2** |
| **SBI Shinsei** | 5 | 7 | 9 | 6 | **6.5** |
| **Rakuten Bank** | 6 | 6 | n/a | 7 | **6.3** |
| **PRESTIA** | 5 | 3 | 9 | 8 | **6.2** |
| **SMBC** | 7 | n/a | 3 | 6 | **5.7** |
| **Sony Bank** | 4 | n/a | 5 | 7 | **5.2** |
| **PayPay Bank** | 6 | 7 | n/a | 2 | **5.0** |
| **Mizuho** | 4 | n/a | n/a | n/a | not scored |
| **MUFG** | 4 | n/a | 2 | 5 | **3.8** |

Why each bank scored as it did:

- **Seven Bank (8.0):** opens at an ATM with only a residence card and 3+ months left; English opening pages; an international money transfer service in English, usable 24/7 at its ATMs or online.
- **Japan Post Bank (7.2):** no 6-month rule on its pages; app in 7 languages; online international transfers cost ¥3,000 each, but you need My Number registered first.
- **SBI Shinsei (6.5):** strongest English (English online banking, English mail forms, a help desk), at least one free domestic online transfer a month; but mail only and the 6-month or job rule. Overseas transfers go through SBI Remit, after its own GoRemit service ended in October 2025.
- **Rakuten Bank (6.3):** accepts a residence card in its app or by mail; overseas transfers cost ¥750 each, plus ¥3,000 if you send yen and ¥1,000 if you pay intermediary fees. We found no English service and no published months rule.
- **PRESTIA (6.2):** full English site and online application, discounted online overseas transfers; but a ¥2,200 monthly fee unless you keep ¥500,000 or meet another waiver, and the 6-month or job rule.
- **SMBC (5.7):** the app accepts a residence card as your single ID document, and SMBC Direct sends money abroad online in 6 foreign currencies and yen. No English support found.
- **Sony Bank (5.2):** offers foreign-currency remittance and deposits; but foreigners must apply by mail after 6 months, and English online banking ended in March 2026 (chat and email help remains).
- **PayPay Bank (5.0):** has a web route for foreigners and free ATM use for ¥30,000 or more; but it does not handle foreign remittance at all.
- **Mizuho (not scored):** too little published evidence. We could rate newcomer access only, from a 2024 copy of its site, and could not check fees, English or transfers.
- **MUFG (3.8):** foreigners can't use its app and must go to a branch with a registered seal; no English support found on its account pages.

## Best bank for foreigners in Japan, by situation

- **Best if you arrived this month:** Seven Bank (ATM opening) or Japan Post Bank. Both start from a residence card with 3+ months left on your stay.
- **Best for English:** SBI Shinsei, once you have 6 months in Japan or a job here. PRESTIA is the alternative if you can keep the balance that waives its fee.
- **Best for sending money home from a bank account:** Seven Bank or Rakuten Bank. Compare them with money transfer services in our guide to [sending money from Japan](/money/remittance/send-money-from-japan/).
- **Best for salary from a Japanese employer:** ask which bank your employer accepts. At Japan Post Bank, SMBC and MUFG counters, expect to bring a seal.

## What happens to my bank account when my visa is renewed or I leave Japan?

Banks keep checking your residence card: PayPay Bank contacts existing customers to confirm their status and period of stay. Sony Bank asks for a copy of your new card every time you extend your stay or change status. If it can't confirm the renewal before expiry, it restricts transactions.

When you leave Japan for good, Japan Post Bank and Sony Bank ask you to close the account. Sony Bank says its accounts are only for people living in Japan. SBI Shinsei does not open accounts for people planning to stay abroad a year or more.

If you are leaving and want your pension contributions back, see our [pension refund (脱退一時金) guide](/money/pension/pension-refund-japan/).

## Common problems at the counter

- **Your card shows an old address.** Update it first. Japan Post Bank's app and PRESTIA both need the current address on your ID.
- **Under 3 months left.** Japan Post Bank won't open the account, Seven Bank tells you to [renew your period of stay](/visa/visas/visa-renewal-japan/) first, and PayPay Bank may refuse.
- **The bank asks why you want the account.** This is normal. Mizuho's online form asked for the purpose of the account, and SMBC says its deposit rules forbid letting someone else use your account or handing it over.
- **The bank says no.** Japan Post Bank says it may refuse some applications. Try another bank from the list, or come back after 6 months.

We don't give individual legal or immigration advice. If your status of residence (在留資格) is unusual, ask the bank directly or check with the Immigration Services Agency.

More guides: [credit cards for foreigners in Japan](/money/cards/credit-card-for-foreigners-japan/), [SIM cards for foreigners](/phone-internet/mobile/sim-card-for-foreigners-japan/), [NISA for foreigners](/money/investing/nisa-for-foreigners/) and [sending money from Japan](/money/remittance/send-money-from-japan/).

## Questions people ask

### Can you open a bank account in Japan as a foreigner?

Yes, if you live in Japan and have a residence card. Most banks want at least 3 months left on your period of stay, and SBI Shinsei, Sony Bank and PRESTIA also want 6 months in Japan or a job at an office in Japan.

### What are Japan Post Bank's requirements for foreigners?

A residence card showing your current address and more than 3 months left on your stay. At the counter you also bring a seal (印鑑). Student and Technical Intern Training visa holders also show a student or employee ID.

### Can I open a Japan Post Bank account online as a foreigner?

Yes, through the ゆうちょ手続きアプリ app, which handles account opening in English and 5 other languages besides Japanese. You need an NFC smartphone, and the app opens only the passbook-free ゆうちょダイレクト+ account.

### Which bank in Japan has the best English support?

On our scores, SBI Shinsei and PRESTIA: both offer English online banking and English support, and SBI Shinsei has English mail application forms. Seven Bank runs its account opening pages and money transfer service in English.

### Do I need a hanko to open a bank account in Japan?

At a counter, usually yes: Japan Post Bank, SMBC and MUFG ask for a seal, and MUFG does not accept Shachihata rubber stamps. SBI Shinsei accepts a signature or a seal.

## Sources

- [外国為替法令の解釈及び運用について](https://www.mof.go.jp/about_mof/act/kokuji_tsuutatsu/tsuutatsu/TU-20230601-4672.pdf), 財務省 (Ministry of Finance) (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [在留カード等とマイナンバーカードの一体化に関するQ&A](https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00051.html), 出入国在留管理庁 (Immigration Services Agency) (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [特定在留カード](https://www.city.nagano.nagano.jp/n085500/contents/p006267.html), Nagano City (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [外国籍のお客さまの口座開設について](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/kaisetu/kat_gaikokujin.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座開設](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/kaisetu/kat_index.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [ゆうちょ手続きアプリ](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/app/tetsuzuki/app_tz_ja.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [国際送金](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/kojin/sokin/kokusou/kj_sk_ks_index.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [その他の料金](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/ryokin/rkn_others.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [一部の在留カードでの本人確認手続きについて](https://www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp/kojin/sokin/kokusou/news/kj_sk_ks_ns_id0005.html), Japan Post Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座開設](https://www.smbc.co.jp/kojin/open-account/), SMBC (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [外国送金](https://www.smbc.co.jp/kojin/kaigaiservice/gaikokusoukin), SMBC (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座をひらく（口座開設）](https://www.bk.mufg.jp/kouza/index.html), MUFG Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [外国送金](https://www.bk.mufg.jp/tsukau/kaigai/soukin/index.html), MUFG Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [インターネットで口座開設 (Internet Archive copy, January 2024)](https://web.archive.org/web/20240117084235/https://www.mizuhobank.co.jp/retail/products/account/net/index.html), Mizuho Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座開設 (Internet Archive copy, March 2024)](https://web.archive.org/web/20240304014908/https://www.mizuhobank.co.jp/retail/products/account/index.html), Mizuho Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [外国籍のお客さまの本人確認書類 (Internet Archive copy)](https://web.archive.org/web/20260613210456/https://www.sbishinseibank.co.jp/account/note/note_foreign.html), SBI Shinsei Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [Changes to Account Opening Procedures for Non-Japanese Residents](https://www.sbishinseibank.co.jp/info/news2606_accountopening_e.html), SBI Shinsei Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [店頭で口座開設 (Internet Archive copy)](https://web.archive.org/web/20260823125222/https://www.sbishinseibank.co.jp/account/branch.html), SBI Shinsei Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [PowerFlex](https://www.sbishinseibank.co.jp/english/powerflex/), SBI Shinsei Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [Sending Funds Overseas](https://www.sbishinseibank.co.jp/english/service/overseas_remittance/), SBI Shinsei Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [郵送での口座開設](https://sonybank.jp/account/13.html), Sony Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座開設 よくあるご質問](https://sonybank.jp/account/01.html), Sony Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [English online banking サービス終了のお知らせ](https://sonybank.jp/info/2026/0119-01.html), Sony Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [在留期間（満了日）および在留資格の確認](https://sonybank.jp/inquiry/notice/residence.html), Sony Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [口座開設の流れ](https://www.rakuten-bank.co.jp/account/flow.html), Rakuten Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [はじめての海外送金](https://www.rakuten-bank.co.jp/geo/remittance/service/), Rakuten Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [Procedure for Opening an Account via an ATM](https://www.sevenbank.co.jp/english/personal/account/application/atmkaisetsu-foreignnational.html), Seven Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [For foreign nationals only: Online Application](https://www.sevenbank.co.jp/english/personal/account/application/online-kaisetsu-foreignnational.html), Seven Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [International Money Transfer Service](https://www.sevenbank.co.jp/soukin/en/), Seven Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [マネー・ローンダリング等防止への取り組み](https://www.paypay-bank.co.jp/policy/amlcft-guideline.html), PayPay Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [個人口座開設](https://www.paypay-bank.co.jp/account/index.html), PayPay Bank (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [Open an Account](https://www.smbctb.co.jp/en/openaccount/application.html), SMBC Trust Bank (PRESTIA) (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [About the Monthly Account Maintenance Fee](https://www.smbctb.co.jp/en/service/fees/), SMBC Trust Bank (PRESTIA) (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
- [PRESTIA Online/Mobile](https://www.smbctb.co.jp/en/service/online/), SMBC Trust Bank (PRESTIA) (accessed Oct 20, 2026)
